Tools to Stimulate Creativity

Le Chieppe
4 min readAug 12, 2024

--

Unsplash

Almost a year ago, I wrote a piece called “Creativity as an Element of Our Identity.” I consider it a gem, if I may make such an immodest comment.

In it, I share a bit of my view on our creative processes and how, as we grow up, we lose an essential part of our creations because we are always so attached to excellence and purpose.

And in this discussion about creating for the sake of creation, someone asked in the comments: what tools can be used to stimulate creativity?

Even though Google has a recipe for e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g, there is no magic formula for creativity. It would be strange if there were… And this in a time when artificial intelligence is trying with all its might to ‘steal’ our creative jobs (but we can have that conversation later).

I’m going to be completely honest here and admit that this question was asked four months ago by a dear reader (hi Anderson!).

This means that for four months, I’ve left this email marked as unread. A bold reminder in my inbox that has become a sort of fuel for me.

Look, I check my emails every day. Even on Sundays!

It’s a bad habit, I know. But for four long months, I’ve been thinking daily about what brings me creativity, and I’ve come to some conclusions. Shall we?

1) Goodbye, social media

This next statement might shock you. But yes, TikTok is making you dumber.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a big fan of the internet. It’s amazing to be able to explore so many worlds with the simple click of a button.

I follow, pardon my language, a crapload of people, precisely because I’m amazed at the possibilities social media offers.

But scrolling through a feed for 2 hours and 45 minutes definitely doesn’t make you more creative.

Try this exercise: set an alarm and spend 20 minutes on Instagram. When the alarm goes off, try to remember 5 cool videos you saw during that time that really added something to your life. Your brain will do some serious mental gymnastics because most of the content we consume isn’t even absorbed by us.

Moreover, your mind doesn’t get a chance to rest if it’s constantly flooded with so many stimuli — and tired minds don’t create art.

It’s worth noting: this doesn’t mean social media is a great villain and we should all throw out our electronics to return to simpler times.

Take it easy, there’s also a lot of good stuff and many inspiring people in our online world. The key is to use it wisely and sparingly, being careful not to fall into a loop of bad content.

2. Another hobby, please

If you’re a painter and want to stimulate creativity, take up fencing.

If you’re a writer, attend a dabke class.

If you’re a dancer, it’s time to learn how to crochet.

In my experience, creativity doesn’t necessarily come from the activity you feel most comfortable creating in. It comes from the unexpected, from experiences.

Creativity emerges when we least expect it. That’s why it’s common knowledge that some of the best ideas come to us while showering, brushing our teeth, or baking a cake (which, in my case, often burns).

You need to have a repertoire, experiences, and stories to tell.

You need to live to create.

When we think about dedicating our lives to art, we mustn’t forget that life is a crucial factor in that equation.

3. Childlike eyes

Now, my favorite strategy for reclaiming the authenticity of creations is one of the simplest things possible.

We’re so creative as children… Our thoughts don’t limit us, as we approach the world with innate curiosity.

Everything seems extraordinary to us. From an ice cream in the middle of the morning to a flower growing on the sidewalk. Things call out to us, colors are brighter.

As children, we see life poetically. And this kind of perspective is an invitation to create.

So I invite you to exercise your creativity and look for the little things around you that would make your childlike eyes sparkle like diamonds — and find a way to turn that into art.

These are some of the thoughts that have come to me over the past four months, but I must emphasize that there is no right answer for stimulating creativity. Tell me, what makes you more creative?

--

--